July 29, 2016

BookItCon 2016: Interview with author Josh Berk

Posted in author interviews at 10:04 PM by Rockin' Rita

You may be asking yourself, what is BookItCon?
Bookitcon isn’t just your ordinary book event, it is a charity book event. We are working with the nonprofit Grace in the Mud* and two K-8 schools in Camden, NJ to help them grow their outdated libraries. The proceeds from this event will be benefiting them. There currently are 30 incredible authors** in the lineup this year for our second annual event (Chapter Two). The book event will include meet-n-greets with the authors, along with two panels and the opportunity to get all of your books signed by all the authors!

If you purchase*** the VIP ticket, you will also be invited to a VIP dinner/after party with the authors, along with getting an extra hour to get your books signed! Books can be bought at the event however if you are unable to attend and would like an autographed book from any of the authors you may buy them on our website.****

A word from our organizer, Nori on why she started UBUbiz.
I decided to start UBUbiz because I wanted a way to combine my passions for reading, business, and charity/community service. After wracking my brain for months, the idea of Bookitcon suddenly appeared! This is my second year hosting Bookitcon, and I can’t wait.

Where and when?
16 East Main Street Moorestown, NJ 08057
Sunday, August 7th, 2016

Some of the authors at the event include: 
Albert Borris
Amanda Foody
Anna Breslaw
April Lindner
AV Geiger
Barbara Dee
Beth Fantaskey
Charlotte Huang
Claire Legrand
Emma Chase
Eric Smith
Jodi Meadows
Josh Berk
Julie Chibbaro
Julie Eshbaugh
Karole Cozzo
Kathryn Holmes
Kendall Kulper
Kit Grindstaff
Lee Kelly
Lisa A. Koosis
Mackenzi Lee
Martina A Boone
Mia Siegert
Nancy Norbeck
Phoebe North
S Usher Evans
Sandy Hall
SJ Goslee
Victoria Scott

The full schedule can be found on our website: www.UBUbiz.com

 

The Interview

joshberk

Procrastinate Reader: Josh, do you have a “day job” besides being an author?

Josh Berk: Yes, I am a librarian! Specifically, I am the library director in Bethlehem, PA. I have worked in libraries for 18 years and love it.  

PR: That’s so cool! I’ve always wanted to work in a library since I was a child. I would like you to think back to your childhood… what was the first book you remember reading and falling in love with?

JB: This is actually an easy question! I speak to kids a lot and they love to ask this question. For me it was The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. I just loved the main characters and the magical world C.S. Lewis created. I spent a whole summer pushing on the back of closets trying to fall into Narnia.

PR: I love that book! The whole series is awesome but that book was my favorite out of all 5 books! It was on my to be read list forever before I got the chance to read it. Speaking of TBR’s how long is your list?

JB: It’s pretty long! I don’t really keep a list, but I’m always reading about five books at once. I read a lot of non-fiction (usually baseball books) and always have a novel going and also an audiobook in the car. A book I’m really into right now is Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl by Carrie Brownstein.

PR: That’s a lot to be “reading” all at once- I’m impressed! Now that we know about your heading habits let’s talk a little about your writing. Tell us about your latest release.

JB: Say It Ain’t So was the sequel to Strike Three You’re Dead. They are middle-grade baseball mystery novels with lots of jokes. It also has a scene at the very end that I very much love. Teaser!

PR: (FINAL QUESTION) Your twitter profile blurb says you are “Provocative Maury Povich question-asker.” What question would you ask Maury if you were to meet him and only ask him one question?

JB: Hey so that part of my Twitter bio (unlike some of the other parts…) is totally true! I was an audience member on Maury Povich in 1995. It was an episode about the O.J. Simpson trial. I asked a question (not of Maury, but of the panel) about race, class, and the legal system. Provocative! I really want someone to find that episode on YouTube and post the link in the comments. I will give a reward. (Of signed books.)

PR: Thanks so much Josh for taking the time to answer some of my questions for my little blog! I look forward to meeting you at the event! You can find Josh on Twitter @joshberkbooks, visit his website Josh Berk, Writer, buy his books on Amazon, and follow him and add his books on Goodreads.

PS. I tried to find a video of the episode and all I came up with was this with OJ’s ex-gf on the show. Happy hunting everyone! If you find the video please post the link in the comments .:)

*You can find more information on Grace in the Mud by going to their website (http://www.graceinthemud.org/home.html), facebook (https://www.facebook.com/GraceintheMud), or gofundme (https://www.gofundme.com/justforgirls).

**A full list of authors can be found here.

***Interested in attending? Great! You can buy a ticket here!

****Are you dying of jealousy because you’d love to be able to attend and get books signed by the attending authors but can’t? Don’t fear, because virtual signings are here! You can purchase books by any of the attending authors and get it shipped to your house, easy peasy!

Stay up to date with all of the latest Bookitcon: Chapter Two news
Subscribe to the UBUbiz newsletter

Got questions for our organizer about the event?
You can contact Nori through http://www.UBUbiz.com or email her at: nori@UBUbiz.com

bookitcon logo

Social Media Links:
Website: www.UBUbiz.com
Twitter: @UBUbiz
Instagram: @ububiz_

 

Leave a Reply

